Martin Schlumpf Composer

Home en

home_en01  home_en02  home_en03

Pandora’s Promise: American Premiere (August 2014)
“Pandora’s Promise” will be played for the first time in the US on August 13, 2014 in Portsmouth, NH on the occasion of the PARMA Music Festival.

New Trio completed (April 2014)
The new Trio for alto saxophone, cello and piano, commissioned by Harry White, has just been finished: Pandora’s Promise will be premiered by the Harry White Trio on May 8, 2014 in Wuerenlingen, Switzerland and repeated for the first time in Zurich on May 17, 2014.

Edition Kunzelmann (Edition Peters) as my main publisher (February 2014)
Ten of my mainly newer works are available till now from Edition Kunzelmann. As novelties recently published are “December Rains”, “The Five Points”, “Mirror Images” and “Push and Pull”. Further works will follow.

Video STREAMS (January 2014)
The Video of the premiere of “Streams” (with Matthias Müller, David Taylor and the PARMA Orchestra under John Page) is now public.

New CD Brahms – Schlumpf - Müller (October 2013)
 The new CD BRAHMS – SCHLUMPF - MÜLLER has been released by NEOS, Munich, with my clarinet quintet “The Five Points”, played by Matthias Müller and the Galatea Quartet.

Premiere of  The Five Points (September 2013)
On September 27, 2013 the successful world premiere of my clarinet quintet “The Five Points” has taken place within the context of the program “Brahms und die Gegenwart”. The piece has been played by Matthias Müller, clarinet and the Galatea Quartet from Zurich.

Release of the new CD STREAMS (August 2013)
With STREAMS, the follow-up to my 2012 Navona Records release SUMMER CIRCLE, I am proud to announce a new album with three of my most important concertos: “Mouvements”, “Waves” and “Streams”. The performance of the various soloists and orchestras is excellent, the album art lures by its harmony of colors. A very special point is the expansion by the “Enhanced Content”: if you place the CD in a computer you will get access to scores and score sketches of all compositions, extended liner notes, pictures  and more.

Big success at the World Premiere of Streams (August 2013)
On August 17, 2013 the world premiere of my Double Concerto “Streams” for clarinet, basstrombone and 17 instruments has taken place at the closing concert event of the PARMA Music Festival at The Music Hall in Portsmouth NH, USA. The piece played by Matthias Müller, David Taylor and the PARMA Orchestra, conducted by John Page, ended in a longlasting standing ovation! With the words of Bob Lord, CEO of PARMA Recordings: “Everybody was blown away by your music, and the sight of the crowd jumping to their feet for you at the Music Hall is something I won’t soon forget.”
The concert was supported by the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia. At the same festival there have been further performances of “Puzzle” and “December Rains” as well.

Premiere of Push and Pull (May 2013)
On May 24, 2013 the world premiere of “Push and Pull” for accordion solo, the newest composition by Martin Schlumpf, has taken place. The piece was performed by the Russian accordionist Sergej Tchirkov. Here is the link to the concert-video.

Premiere of Spiegelbilder – Mirror Images (May 2013)
The newest composition by Martin Schlumpf, “Mirror Images” for viola, cello and piano will have its premiere on May 12, 2013 in Lugano and will be played afterwoods in a little Swiss tour under the titel “Schumann in the mirror”  in Zurich (May 14), Basel (May 15) and Geneva (May 16). The piece was commissioned by Jürg Dähler and will be performed by the Swiss Chamber Soloists: Jürg Dähler, viola, Daniel Haefliger, cello, Gilles Vonsattel, piano. Here is the link to the video of the Zurich concert.

CD recordings of The Five Points (February 2013)
On February 28, 2013 Matthias Müller and the Galatea Quartet recorded at the old church Boswil, Switzerland, the new clarinet quintet “The Five Points” by Martin Schlumpf. Responsible for the recording was Andreas Werner.

Premiere of Dawn (January 2013) Here the link to the video
In beginning December 2012 Martin Schlumpf accomplished his new composition DAWN for SABRe bass clarinet and orchestra. The premiere took place within the context of the 3rd European Clarinet Festival in Ghent, Belgium, on January 20, 2013 with Matthias Müller and the Brussels Philharmonic under Dirk Brossé, sound engineering: Isai Angst.

New commissions for compositions (December 2012)

  • Trio for Viola, Cello and Piano for the Swiss Chamber Concerts (Jürg Dähler, Daniel Haefliger, Gilles Vonsattel); premiere in Zurich on May 14, 2013
  • Solopiece for accordion for the Saint-Petersburg International Contemporary Music Festival (Sergej Tchirkov); premiere in St. Petersburg on May 24, 2013
  • Tripel Concerto for the Oliver Schnyder Trio (Andreas Janke, Benjamin Nyffenegger, Oliver Schnyder); premiere not yet scheduled
  • Trio for Altosax, Cello and Piano for the Harry White Trio (Harry White, Pi-Chin Chien, Edward Rushton); premiere on February/March 2014

The Five Points has been published (October 2012)
Between March and October 2012 Martin Schlumpf has written a quintet for clarinet and string quartet entitled “The Five Points” (for Matthias Müller and the Galatea Quartet).
There will be a first concert with “The Five Points” in Zurich on January 20, 2013. The real premiere will take place after recording sessions for the label Neos in fall 2013 at the Tonhalle Zurich.

Puzzle-Performances 2012 (Oktober 2012)
Schlumpfs solopiece “Puzzle” for bass clarinet and computer (Ambisonics) has been played by Matthias Müller in Zurich and Brugg AG (Switzerland), in New York and Boston (USA) and in Morelia (Mexico). On December 13 there will be another performance in the Helsinki Music Centre by Angel Molinos.

Grant from the Aargau Board of Trustees (May 2012)
On May 23, 2012 the Aargau Board of Trustees awarded Martin Schlumpf a grant-in-aid in the field of classical music.

Recordings of  Puzzle (May 2012)
On May 22, 2012 Martin Schlumpf produced recordings of “Puzzle” for bassclarinet and computer with Matthias Müller as soloist and David Bollinger as tone engineer (ToneControl).

Release of the new CD SUMMER CIRCLE! (May 2012)
As a first result of Martin Schlumpf’s collaboration with PARMA Recordings, New Hampton NH, USA, the CD SUMMER CIRCLE has just been released (distributed by NAXOS). With the three works “December Rains”, “Clarinet Trio” and “Summer Circle” it gives a beautiful overview of Schlumpf’s chamber music production since the 1990s. The performance of the musicians from Boston and Washington DC is excellent, the graphical outfit of the album lures by its harmony of colors. A very special point is the expansion by the “Enhanced Content”: if you place the CD in a computer you will get access to printable scores and score sketches of all compositions, extended liner notes, photos and video etc.
More infos here.

New compositions (October 2011)
For a concert in Zurich, January 20, 2012, Martin Schlumpf is writing a new piece entitled PUZZLE for bassclarinet and computer (Ambisonics). On this occasion Matthias Müller, the clarinet player, will give the first performance of his new electronical SABRE-bassclarinet (Vortragssaal, Zurich University of the Arts).
In addition Schlumpf will write a clarinet quintet for Müller and the Galatea Quartet (Zurich).

Recording sessions with PARMA Recordings (June 2010)
From May 31 to June 13, 2011 Martin Schlumpf stayed in Boston and Washington, D.C., to accompany the recordings of his new chamber music-CD “Summer Circle” as well as the one of the 3rd concerto of his concert-CD.
In this time recordings of the following compositions took place:

  • “Streams”, double concerto for clarinet (Mattias Müller), bass trombone (David Taylor) and 17 instruments with the PARMA Orchestra and John Page,
  • “December Rains” for solo piano with Karolina Rojahn,
  • “Trio” for clarinet, cello and piano with Rane Moore, Rafael Popper-Kaiser and Cory Smythe and
  • “Summer Circle” for string quartet with the Krypton quartet.

Collaboration with PARMA Recordings (November 2009)
PARMA Recordings is planning to release a CD with three Martin Schlumpf concertos in 2011. The piano concerto “Mouvements” and the cello concerto “Waves” will be recorded with the Moravian Philharmonic Orchestra in Olomouc, Czech Republic, in late November 2009. Schlumpf will complete the third piece, a double concerto for clarinet (Matthias Müller) bass trombone (David Taylor) and 17 instruments, by 2010.

“pulsar_1″ and “Rattaplasma 2″ in Lugano (October 2009)
Further performances of “pulsar_1″ and “Rattaplasma 2″ are scheduled to take place in Lugano’s Conservatorio della Svizzera Italiana at 8:00 p.m. on 2 October 2009, during the Automa Festival of electro-acoustical music, mounted by Oggimusica from 1 to 4 October 2009.
The same festival will feature a concerto by the duo «ZWEIZEIT» (M. Schlumpf and A. Frey) at 10:15 p.m. on 3 October 2009. The heart of the program will be an improvisation to Marcel Duchamp’s film “Anemic Cinema”.

New “pulsar_1″ CD released (September 2009)
The super audio CD “pulsar_1″, co-produced by tgmusic and ZHdK Records, has been released. It contains three of Martin Schlumpf’s latest compositions: “pulsar_1″ (2006-7) for flute, clarinet, accordion, percussion and computer (ambisonics), “Atemspuren” (2005) for bass clarinet and accordion, and “Rattaplasma 2″ (2001) for clarinet and computer (ambisonics).

World Première of “pulsar_2″ (September 2009)
On 11 September 2009 the Festival of the Arts at the Zurich University of the Arts witnessed the world première of “pulsar_2″ for voice, flute, piano and computer (ambisonics). A total of twentyfour loudspeakers encircled the audience, reaching a new level of sophistication in ambient acoustics. Moreover, thanks the musicans Kornelia Bruggmann, Matthias Ziegler, and Roger Girod, improvisation found its way for the first time into the “pulsar” series.

Martin Schlumpf Founds Own Label, tgmusic (August 2008)
The tgmusic label will issue the latest scores, CD’s and DVD’s by Martin Schlumpf and his friends. All the products are listed on the website www.tgmusic.ch, where they can also be ordered. Visitors can also hear audio samples from each CD and view at least one sample page from each score.

New CD Just Released: “Timegrid_01″ (August 2008)
The new «ZWEIZEIT» duo, with Adrian Frey (piano) and Martin Schlumpf (bass/contrabass clarinet), has released its first CD, “Timegrid_01″, featuring mostly free improvisations that cross stylistic boundaries between Jazz and classical music. The new CD, with compositions, concepts, and freely improvised pieces, is available from tgmusic.

Birthday Concert (December 2007)
Martin Schlumpf’s sixtieth birthday was celebrated on 3 december 2007 with a double concert at the Grand Auditorium of the Zurich University of the Arts. The firs part consisted of students playing works composed exclusively by Martin Schlumpf: “Jeux” for three clarinets (1979), “December Rains” for solo piano (1992-3), and “Frühling” for percussion quartet (1995). The second part featured the casalQUATETT and the improvising musicians Adrian Frey and Martin Schlumpf in a program of string quartets by Janacek and Beethoven, combined with arrangements of Perotin, improvisations, and the second performance of Schlumpf’s “Summer Circle”.
The essay “Konstanz im Wechsel”, written for the occasion by the rector of the Zurich Hochschule of Music and Theater, Daniel Fueter, can be downloaded here.

Martin Schlumpf Composer

Home de

home_de01  home_de02  home_de03

Neue Werke bei Edition Kunzelmann (Oktober 2014)
In der Edition Kunzelmann (Edition Peters) sind neu von mir erschienen: “Jeux”, “Frühling”, “…aufflattern…”, “Klarinettentrio”, “The Wounded Bluesplayer”, “Atemspuren”, “Sommerkreis” und “Pandora’s Promise”.

Auftrag für neues Orchesterwerk  (September 2014)
Das Sinfonieorchester Basel hat mich beauftragt, für die Saison 2015/16 ein neues Orchesterwerk zu schreiben, das von ihrem Chefdirigenten, Dennis Russell Davies, uraufgeführt wird.

Pandora’s Promise: Amerikanische Première (August 2014)
Im Rahmen des PARMA Music Festivals wird “Pandora’s Promise” am 13. August 2014 in Portsmouth, NH zum ersten Mal in den USA gespielt.

Neues Trio beendet (April 2014)
Das im Auftrag von Harry White geschriebene neue Trio für Altsaxophon, Cello und Klavier ist soeben fertig geworden: “Pandora’s Promise” wird am 8. Mai 2014 in Würenlingen vom Harry White Trio uraufgeführt und am 17. Mai in Zürich zum ersten Mal wiederholt.

Edition Kunzelmann (Edition Peters) als mein Hauptverlag (Februar 2014)
Zehn meiner vor allem neueren Werke sind bis heute bei Edition Kunzelmann erhältlich. Soeben als Neuheiten erschienen sind “December Rains”, “The Five Points”, “Spiegelbilder” und “Push and Pull”. Weitere Werke werden folgen.

Video STREAMS (Januar 2014)
Das Video der Uraufführung von “Streams” (mit Matthias Müller und David Taylor, sowie dem PARMA Orchestra unter John Page) ist nun öffentlich.

Neue CD Brahms – Schlumpf - Müller (Oktober 2013)
Bei NEOS, München ist die neue CD BRAHMS – SCHLUMPF - MÜLLER mit meinem Klarinettenquintett “The Five Points” erschienen. Es spielen Matthias Müller und das Galatea Quartett.

Uraufführung von The Five Points (September 2013)
Am 27. September 2013 fand im Kleinen Saal der Tonhalle Zürich die erfolgreiche Uraufführung meines Klarinettenquintetts “The Five Points” im Rahmen des Programms “Brahms und die Gegenwart” statt. Es spielten Matthias Müller, Klarinette und das Galatea Quartett aus Zürich.

Die neue CD STREAMS ist erschienen (August 2013)
Ich bin stolz, mit STREAMS, der Nachfolgeproduktion meiner 2012 bei Navona Records, USA erschienenen CD SUMMER CIRCLE, ein neues Album ankündigen zu können, das drei meiner wichtigsten Konzerte enthält: “Mouvements”, “Waves” und “Streams”. Die Interpretationen der verschiedenen Solisten und Orchester sind herausragend, die grafische Gestaltung des Albums verführt durch einen farblichen Wohlklang. Speziell zu erwähnen ist auch die mediale Erweiterung durch den sog. “Enhanced Content”: Wenn man die CD in einen Computer steckt, stehen Partituren und Skizzenblätter der Stücke, ein erweitertes Booklet, Fotos und anderes zur Verfügung.

Grosser Erfolg an der Weltpremiere von Streams (August 2013)
Am 17. August 2013 wurde in den USA im Rahmen des grossen Schlusskonzerts des dreitägigen PARMA Music Festivals mein Doppelkonzert “Streams” für Klarinette, Bassposaune und 17 Instrumente in The Music Hall in Portsmouth NH zum ersten Mal gespielt. Die Aufführung, gespielt von Matthias Müller, David Taylor und dem PARMA Orchestra unter der Leitung von John Page, endete in einer langanhaltenden Standing Ovation! Mit den Worten von Bob Lord, CEO von PARMA Recordings: “Everybody was blown away by your music, and the sight of the crowd jumping to their feet for you at the Music Hall is something I won’t soon forget.”
Das Konzert wurde von Pro Helvetia unterstützt. Ebenfalls an diesem Festival gab es auch weitere Aufführungen von “Puzzle” und “December Rains”.

Uraufführung von Push and Pull (Mai 2013)
Am 24. Mai 2013 hat  in St. Petersburg die Welturaufführung von “Push and Pull” für Akkordeon solo, der jüngsten Komposition von Martin Schlumpf, stattgefunden. Gespielt hat der russische Akkordeonist Sergej Tchirkov. Und hier der Link zum Konzertvideo.

Uraufführung von Spiegelbilder (Mai 2013)
Die neueste Komposition von Martin Schlumpf, “Spiegelbilder” für Viola, Cello und Klavier wird am 12. Mai 2013 in Lugano uraufgeführt und danach in einer kleinen Schweizer Tournée unter dem Titel “Schumann im Spiegel” auch in Zürich (14. Mai), Basel (15. Mai) und Genf (16. Mai) gespielt. Das Stück wurde von Jürg Dähler von den Swiss Chamber Soloists in Auftrag gegeben und wird von diesen auch gespielt: Jürg Dähler, Viola, Daniel Haefliger, Cello, Gilles Vonsattel, Klavier. Und hier der Link zum Video des Konzerts in Zürich.

CD-Aufnahmen von The Five Points (Februar 2013)
Am 28. Februar 2013 haben Matthias Müller und das Galatea Quartett in der alten Kirche Boswil das neue Klarinettenquintett “The Five Points” von Martin Schlumpf für eine neue NEOS-CD aufgenommen. Aufnahmeleiter war Andreas Werner.

Uraufführung von Dawn (Januar 2013) Hier der Link zum Video
Der von Martin Schlumpf anfangs Dezember 2012 fertiggestellte Konzertsatz DAWN für SABRe Bassklarinette und Orchester wurde am 20. Januar 2013 im Abschlusskonzert des 3. Europäischen Klarinettenfestivals in Gent, Belgien uraufgeführt. Es spielten Matthias Müller und die Brussels Philharmonic unter Dirk Brossé, Technik: Isai Angst.

Neue Kompositionsaufträge (Stand Dezember 2012)

  • Trio für Viola, Cello und Klavier für die Swiss Chamber Concerts (Jürg Dähler, Daniel Haefliger, Gilles Vonsattel); UA in Zürich am 14. Mai 2013
  • Solostück für Akkordeon für das Saint-Petersburg International Contemporary Music Festival (Sergej Tchirkov); UA in St. Petersburg am 24. Mai 2013
  • Tripelkonzert für das Oliver Schnyder Trio (Andreas Janke, Benjamin Nyffenegger, Oliver Schnyder); UA noch offen
  • Trio für Altsax, Cello und Klavier für das Harry White Trio (Harry White, Pi-Chin Chien, Edward Rushton); UA Februar/März 2014

The Five Points ist erschienen (Oktober 2012)
Zwischen März und Oktober 2012 hat Martin Schlumpf ein Quintett für Klarinette und Streichquartett mit dem Titel “The Five Points” geschrieben (für Matthias Müller und das Galatea Quartet).
Am 25. Januar 2013 wird in Zürich eine Vorpremière dieses Werkes gespielt werden. Danach folgen CD-Aufnahmen für das label Neos und schliesslich die offizielle UA im Herbst 2013 in der Tonhalle Zürich.

PUZZLE-Aufführungen 2012 (Oktober 2012)
Schlumpfs Solostück “Puzzle” für Bassklarinette und Computer (Ambisonics) ist von Matthias Müller in Zürich und Brugg AG in der Schweiz, in New York und Boston (USA) und in Morelia (Mexico) gespielt worden. Zudem wird es am 13. Dezember im Helsinki Music Centre von Angel Molinos aufgeführt.

Werkbeitrag des Aaragauer Kuratoriums (Mai 2012)
Am 23. Mai 2012 hat das Aargauer Kuratorium Martin Schlumpf einen Werkbeitrag im Bereich Musik Klassik zugesprochen.

Aufnahmen von PUZZLE (Mai 2012)
Am 22. Mai 2012 hat Martin Schlumpf mit Matthias Müller als Solisten und David Bollinger als Tonmeister (ToneControl) Aufnahmen von “Puzzle” für Bassklarinette und Computer produziert.

Die neue CD SUMMER CIRCLE ist erschienen! (Mai 2012)
Als erstes Produkt der Zusammenarbeit von Martin Schlumpf mit PARMA Recordings, New Hampton NH, USA, ist jetzt die CD SUMMER CIRCLE erschienen, die von Naxos vertrieben wird. Mit den drei Werken “December Rains”, “Klarinetten Trio” und “Sommerkreis” gibt sie eine schöne Übersicht über Schlumpfs Kammermusikproduktion seit den frühen 90er-Jahren. Die Interpretation durch MusikerInnen aus Boston und Washington DC ist excellent, die grafische Gestaltung des Albums verführt durch einen farblichen Wohlklang. Speziell ist die mediale Erweiterung durch den sog. “Enhanced Content”: Wenn man die CD in einen Computer steckt, stehen herunterladbare Partituren und Skizzenblätter der Stücke, ausführliche Werkanalysen, Fotos und Video etc. zur Verfügung.
Weitere Informationen sind hier zu finden.

Neue Kompositionen (Oktober 2011)
Für ein Konzert am 20. Januar 2012 schreibt Martin Schlumpf ein neues Stück mit dem Titel PUZZLE für Bassklarinette und Computer (Ambisonics). Matthias Müller wird an diesem Konzert im Vortragssaal der ZHdK (Zürcher Hochschule der Künste) seine neue elektronische SABRE-Bassklarinette einweihen.
Für Müller und das Galatea Quartet schreibt Schlumpf ausserdem ein Klarinettenquintett.

Aufnahmesessions mit PARMA Recordings (Juni 2010)
Vom 31. Mai bis 13. Juni 2011 war Martin Schlumpf in Boston und Washington, D.C., um die Aufnahmen für seine neue Kammermusik-CD sowie das 3. Konzert seiner Konzerte-CD zu überwachen.
Folgende Stücke wurden in dieser Zeit aufgenommen:

  • “Streams”, Doppelkonzert für Klarinette (Mattias Müller), Bassposaune (David Taylor) und 17 Instrumente mit dem neugegründeten PARMA Orchestra unter der Leitung von John Page,
  • “December Rains” für Klavier solo mit Karolina Rojahn,
  • “Trio” für Klarinette, Cello und Klavier mit Rane Moore, Rafael Popper-Kaiser und Cory Smythe sowie
  • “Summer Circle” für Streichquartett mit dem Krypton Quartett.

Zusammenarbeit mir PARMA Recordings (November 2009)
Für 2011 plant PARMA Recordings eine CD mit drei Konzerten von Martin Schlumpf. Ende November 09 finden die Aufnahmen des Klavierkonzerts “Mouvements” und des Cellokonzerts “Waves” mit dem Moravian Philharmonic Orchestra in Olomouc, Tschechien statt. Das dritte Konzert auf der CD, ein Doppelkonzert für Klarinette (Matthias Müller), Bassposaune (David Taylor) und 17 Instrumente wird von Schlumpf 2010 geschrieben.

“pulsar_1″ und “Rattaplasma 2″ in Lugano (Oktober 2009)
Am Festival “automa?” mit elektroakustischer Musik, das von Oggimusica vom 1. bis 4. Oktober 09 in Lugano organisiert wird, finden am 2. Oktober 09 um 20 Uhr im Conservatorio della Svizzera Italiana weitere Aufführungen von “pulsar_1″ und “Rattaplasma 2″ statt.
Am gleichen Festival gibt am 3. Oktober 09 um 22.15 Uhr auch das Duo “Zweizeit” (M. Schlumpf und A. Frey) ein Konzert. Im Zentrum des Programms steht eine Improvisation zum Film “Anemic Cinema” von Marcel Duchamp.

Die neue CD “pulsar_1″ ist erschienen (September 2009)
Als Koproduktion von tgmusic und ZHdK Records ist die Super Audio CD “pulsar_1″ erschienen. Darauf sind drei der letzten Kompositionen von Martin Schlumpf zu hören: “pulsar_1″ für Flöte, Klarinette, Akkordeon, Schlagzeug und Computer (Ambisonics), 2006/07 / “Atemspuren” für Bassklarinette und Akkordeon, 2005 / “Rattaplasma 2″ für Klarinette und Computer (Ambisonics), 2001.

Uraufführung “pulsar_2″ (September 2009)
Am 11. September 2009 fand im Rahmen des Festivals der Künste der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste die Uraufführung von “pulsar_2″ für Stimme, Flöte, Klavier und Computer (Ambisonics) statt. Mit insgesamt 24 rund um das Publikum verteilten Lautsprechern wurde eine neue Stufe der Differenzierung des Raumklangs erreicht. Ermöglicht durch die MusikerInnen Kornelia Bruggmann, Matthias Ziegler und Roger Girod hat ausserdem in der “pulsar”-Kompositionsreihe zum ersten Mal auch die Improvisation teilweise Einzug erhalten.

Gründung des Eigenlabels «tgmusic» (August 2008)
Im label «tgmusic» werden die neuesten Partituren sowie CD’s/DVD’s von Martin Schlumpf und Freunden veröffentlicht. Auf der Website www.tgmusic.ch sind alle Produkte zusammengestellt, die auch dort bestellt werden können. Aus jeder CD können kürzere Tonausschnitte gehört, aus jeder Partitur mindestens eine Beispielseite angeschaut werden.

Die neue CD “Timegrid_01″ ist erschienen (August 2008)
Das neue Duo «Zweizeit» mit Adrian Frey, Klavier und Martin Schlumpf, Bass- und Kontrabassklarinette, publiziert seine erste CD “Timegrid_01″ (tgmusic). Zwischen Jazz und Klassik wird hier eine weitgehend frei improvisierte Musik gespielt, die über stilistische Begrenzungen hinausblickt. Zwischen Komposition, Konzept und freien Stücken.

Geburtstagskonzert (Dezember 2007)
Zum 60sten Geburtstag von Martin Schlumpf fand am 3. Dezember 2007 im Grossen Saal der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste ein Doppelkonzert statt.
Im ersten Teil spielten Studierende ausschliesslich Werke von Martin Schlumpf: “Jeux” für 3 Klarinetten (1979), “December Rains” für Klavier solo (1992/93) und “Frühling für Schlagzeug-Quartett (1995).
Im zweiten Teil traten das casalQUARTETT und die beiden Improvisatoren Adrian Frey und Martin Schlumpf auf. Im Programm wurden Streichquartett-Werke von Janacek und Beethoven mit Bearbeitungen von Perotin, Improvisationen und der Zweitaufführung von Schlumpf’s “Sommerkreis” kombiniert.
Der zu diesem Anlass geschriebene Text von Daniel Fueter, Rektor der Hochschule Musik und Theater Zürich, “Konstanz im Wechsel”, kann hier heruntergeladen werden.